For Immediate Release:  April 11, 2018 - The BC Food Processors Association is very pleased to announce the Finalists for our 2018 BC Food and Beverage Awards.  The winners for each award will be announced at our annual Awards Gala & Dinner, which will be held at the beautiful Westin Bayshore on June 21, 2018.

“Congratulations to all of our nominees,” says James Donaldson, BCFPA Executive Director and CEO.  “The Awards recognize accomplishments of the food, beverage and natural health products industries, which is the largest manufacturing sector in BC, in both employment and economic inputs; $10.3 billion annually, surpassing forestry,” Donaldson adds.

“The FoodProWest Gala Awards Dinner is BC’s Food and Beverage Oscars,” says Donaldson, “It celebrates the achievements of food and beverage companies, big and small, and their staff who work hard to strengthen the industry as whole.”

Finalists were selected in eight award categories by an independent judging panel.  This year’s finalists are;

Award Finalists 2018

Innovation Award

Icicle Technologies Inc.

Blue Heron Creamery

Vitalus Nutrition Inc.


Leadership Award

Mike Nunn, VP Operations                    Ideon Packaging

Yvonne Anderson, President,                Santevia Water Systems

Phil Vanderpol, President and CEO  ,   Vitalus Nutrition Inc.


Member of the Year Award


Ideon Packaging

Fresh Direct Produce


Rising Star Award  

Garett Senez, VP Marketing,             Pac Rim Distributors

Roch Fortin, Owner                           Maple Roch

Jasmine Byrne, Vice President          Big Mountain Foods


Sustainability Award

Farafena Foods

Earnest Ice Cream

Wize Monkey Coffee Leaf Tea


Workplace Safety Award  

Aryzta Limited

Nestle Canada Inc.


Export Award

Ethical Bean Coffee

Organika Health Products Inc

Sun-Rype Products Ltd.


Our hallmark award is the Product of the Year.  This year we had 26 nominees representing an amazing assortment of unique BC products pitch to our panel of judges in a ‘Dragon’s Den’ style format.  The Finalists for Product of the Year (Gold, Silver, Bronze) will be announced at our annual BCFPA Awards Gala & Dinner on June 21st.

Product of the Year Nominees:

Amai Vegan Treats

Barrelhouse Brine

Blue Heron Creamery

Bumble Bloom

Canterbury Coffee

Ernest Ice Cream

Fatso Hybrid Peanut Butter

Frozen Coconut

Hippie Snacks

Holy Napoli Pizza Inc.

Jiva Organics



Liquids+Solids Culinary Innovations Inc


Pranin Organic

Protein by Bent

She Devil Delights


The Granola Girl

The Very Good Butchers

Top Tier Foods

True Nosh


Wild Coast Fruit Company

Wise Bites


Also during the Gala, we will be excited to announce this year’s inductee into our Hall of Fame, having made exemplary contributions to BC’s food industry over more than 25 years.

If you have not yet registered to attend the Awards Gala and Dinner, it’s an event not to be missed!  Tickets are selling quickly and space is limited, so don’t miss your chance to enjoy a great night, where the industry comes together to celebrate and connect. You can order your Gala Tickets right here; https://www.bcfpa.ca/foodprowest/register/now



“Congratulations to all nominees. The #FoodProWest Gala Awards Dinner is BC’s Food & Beverage Oscars, celebrating the achievements of companies and their staff who work hard to strengthen the industry.”  James Donaldson, CEO of BCFPA. https://buff.ly/2IJ5PfZ


For more information, https://www.bcfpa.ca/foodprowest


Contact:   James Donaldson, BCFPA  604 371-4245